Ottawa, ON (Nov 24, 2017) – The CFL Players’ Association is pleased to announce its 2017 CFLPA All-Star Team:

Quarterback Mike Reilly Edmonton Eskimos   Defensive End Willie Jefferson Saskatchewan Roughriders
Offensive Tackle Stanley Bryant Winnipeg Blue Bombers   Defensive End Odell Willis Edmonton Eskimos
Offensive Tackle Chris Van Zeyl Toronto Argonauts   Defensive Tackle Almondo Sewell Edmonton Eskimos
Offensive Guard Travis Bond Winnipeg Blue Bombers   Defensive Tackle Micah Johnson Calgary Stampeders
Offensive Guard Matthew O’Donnell Edmonton Eskimos   Linebacker Alex Singleton Calgary Stampeders
Centre Mathias Goossen Winnipeg Blue Bombers   Linebacker Solomon Elimimian BC Lions
Running Back Andrew Harris Winnipeg Blue Bombers   Linebacker Maurice Leggett Winnipeg Blue Bombers
Full Back Declan Cross Toronto Argonauts   Cornerback Christopher Randle Winnipeg Blue Bombers
Slot Back SJ Green Toronto Argonauts   Cornerback Tommie Campbell Calgary Stampeders
Slot Back Brandon Zylstra Edmonton Eskimos   Half Back TJ Heath Winnipeg Blue Bombers
Wide Receiver Greg Ellingson Ottawa REDBLACKS   Half Back Ed Gainey Saskatchewan Roughriders
Wide Receiver Darvin Adams Winnipeg Blue Bombers   Safety Taylor Loffler Winnipeg Blue Bombers
Long Snapper Chad Rempel Winnipeg Blue Bombers   Punter Brett Maher Ottawa REDBLACKS
Special Teams Roy Finch Calgary Stampeders   Place Kicker Rene Paredes Calgary Stampeders
  Head Coach           Mike O’Shea           Winnipeg Blue Bombers  

These All-Star Nominations are regarded as one of the most prestigious awards as they are voted on by peers.

This team was voted on by all current members on the 9 CFL Member Clubs as well as all positional coaches for each Club.  This year we received over 622 ballots that determined the 2017 winners.

Only players who have PLAYED 12 or more games during the season are eligible. Players and Coaches MAY NOT VOTE for any player or coach who is a member of their own team.

This vote is unique in that the players only vote for the All-Stars in the positions they go head to head with since they can best judge the abilities and skills of these players.  For example, Wide Receivers and Slot Backs are voted for by Defensive Backs & Secondary Coaches.  All Players and Coaches may vote for the Head Coach and Special Teams Player.

The voting is conducted as follows:  Each player will select 3 players at the specified positions on their ballot and rank them 1st through 3rd.  First place votes will receive 3 points, second place votes will receive two points and third place votes will receive one point.  After all votes are weighted the players with the highest point totals for each position will be named as C.F.L.P.A. All-Stars.

We wish to congratulate all the All-Star’s on a well-deserved acknowledgement as well as an outstanding season both on and off the field.

Jeff Keeping

CFLPA President

For more information on the CFLPA, please visit

Media Enquiries:

Rachel Rollo – Coordinator of Association Administration

T: 1.800.616.6865

E: [email protected]

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply