CFLPA Announces 2016 All-Star Team






Toronto, ON (Nov 24, 2016) – The CFL Players’ Association is pleased to announce its 2016 CFLPA All-Star Team:


Quarterback Bo Levi Mitchell Calgary Stampeders Defensive End John Chick Hamilton Tiger Cats
Offensive Tackle Jovan Olafioye BC Lions Defensive End Charleston Hughes Calgary Stampeders
Offensive Tackle Stanley Bryant Winnipeg Blue Bombers Defensive Tackle Almondo Sewell Edmonton Eskimos
Offensive Guard Ryan Bomben Hamilton Tiger Cats Defensive Tackle Micah Johnson Calgary Stampeders
Offensive Guard Sukh Chungh Winnipeg Blue Bombers Linebacker Maurice Leggett Winnipeg Blue Bombers
Centre Greg Van Roten Toronto Argonauts Linebacker JC Sherritt Edmonton Eskimos
Running Back Jerome Messam Calgary Stampeders Linebacker Ja’Gared Davis Calgary Stampeders
Full Back Rob Cote Calgary Stampeders Cornerback Patrick Watkins Edmonton Eskimos
Slot Back Adarius Bowman Edmonton Eskimos Cornerback Joe Burnett Calgary Stampeders
Slot Back Marquay McDaniel Calgary Stampeders Half Back Emanuel Davis Hamilton Tiger Cats
Wide Receiver Derel Walker Edmonton Eskimos Half Back TJ Heath Winnipeg Blue Bombers
Wide Receiver Duron Carter Montreal Alouettes Safety Joshua Bell Calgary Stampeders
Long Snapper Chad Rempel Winnipeg Blue Bombers Punter Richie Leone BC Lions
Special Teams Roy Finch Calgary Stampeders Place Kicker Justin Medlock Winnipeg Blue Bombers
Head Coach           Dave Dickenson           Calgary Stampeders


These All-Star Nominations are regarded as one of the most prestigious awards as they are voted on by peers.

This team was voted on by all current members on the 9 CFL Member Clubs as well as all positional coaches for each Club.  This year we received over 462 ballots that determined the 2016 winners.

Only players who have PLAYED 12 or more games during the season are eligible. Players and Coaches MAY NOT VOTE for any player or coach who is a member of their own team.

This vote is unique in that the players only vote for the All-Stars in the positions they go head to head with since they can best judge the abilities and skills of these players.  For example, Wide Receivers and Slot Backs are voted for by Defensive Backs & Secondary Coaches.  All Players and Coaches may vote for the Head Coach and Special Teams Player.

The voting is conducted as follows:  Each player will select 3 players at the specified positions on their ballot and rank them 1st through 3rd.  First place votes will receive 3 points, second place votes will receive two points and third place votes will receive one point.  After all votes are weighted the players with the highest point totals for each position will be named as C.F.L.P.A. All-Stars.

We wish to congratulate all the All-Star’s on a well-deserved acknowledgement as well as an outstanding season both on and off the field.


Jeff Keeping

CFLPA President


For more information on the CFLPA, please visit

Media Enquiries:

Deanne Mitchell – Executive Assistant to Jeff Keeping

T: 905.664.0852 x 204 or 1.800.616.6865

C: 905.320.3613    F: 905.664.9653
E: [email protected]

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply