Players – Tom Pate Award

Every year the Canadian Football League Players’ Association presents the Tom Pate Award; an award we hold in high regard. It is not a “Jock Award” but rather an award given to players who display qualities that distinguish them from their peers. It is this rare quality that the players who have won maintained and made them recipients of the award. Tom Pate had a unique combination of outstanding sportsmanship and dedication to the league and the community.

He was educated at the University of Nebraska where he majored in business administration, and played first-stringer with the Cornhuskers. After shuffling through various teams, he became a star with the Hamilton Tiger-Cats. In October 1975, however, his stardom as well as his life, was abruptly ended, when in his fourteenth game, against the Stampeders in Calgary, he suffered an aneurysm in the fourth quarter. Pate, only 23 at the time, never regained consciousness and died just two days later.

Each year we invite each team to nominate a team member for this award. The recipient should embody the qualities that distinguished Tom Pate; qualities that recognize a player with outstanding sportsmanship, a player who has made a contribution to his team as well as to his community and to his Association.

Current and Past Winners

CFLPA Tome Pate Award2018Ryan KingEdmonton Eskimos
CFLPA Tome Pate Award2017Adarius BowmanEdmonton Eskimos
CFLPA Tom Pate Award2016Marco IannuzziBC Lions
CFLPA Tom Pate2015Henry BurrisOttawa RedBlacks
CFLPA Tom Pate2014Randy ChevrierCalgary Stampeders
CFLPA Tom Pate Award2013Kyries HebertMontreal Alouettes
CFLPA Tom Pate Award2012Brian BrattonMontreal Alouettes
CFLPA Tom Pate Award2011Kevin GlennHamilton Tiger Cats
CFLPA Tom Pate2010Wes LysackCalgary Stampeders
CFLPA Tom Pate Award2009Marwan HageHamilton Tiger Cats
CFLPA Tome Pate Award2008Jeremy O’DaySaskatchewan Roughriders
CFLPA Tom Pate Award2007Milt StegallWinnipeg Blue Bombers
CFLPA Tom Pate Award2006Mark WashingtonBC Lions
CFLPA Tom Pate Award2005Danny McManusHamilton Tiger Cats
CFLPA Tom Pate Award2004Barron MilesMontreal Alouettes
CFLPA Tom Pate Award2003Steve HardinBC Lions
CFLPA Tom Pate Award2002Greg FrersCalgary Stampeders
CFLPA Tome Pate Award2001Rick WaltersEdmonton Eskimos
CFLPA Tom Pate Award2000Mike MorrealeHamilton Tiger Cats
CFLPA Tom Pate Award1999Jamie TarasB.C. Lions
CFLPA Tom Pate Award1998Glen ScrivenerWinnipeg Blue Bombers
CFLPA Tom Pate Award1997Mark McLoughlinCalgary Stampeders
CFLPA Tom Pate Award1996Michael “Pinball” ClemonsToronto Argonauts
CFLPA Tom Pate Award1995Mark McLoughlinCalgary Stampeders
CFLPA Tom Pate Award1994O.J. BriganceBaltimore Stallions
CFLPA Tom Pate Award1993Michael “Pinball” ClemonsToronto Argonauts
CFLPA Tom Pate Award1992Danny BarrettB.C. Lions
CFLPA Tom Pate Award1991Stu LairdCalgary Stampeders
CFLPA Tome Pate Award1990Ritchie HallSaskatchewan Roughriders
CFLPA Tom Pate Award1989Matt DuniganB.C. Lions
CFLPA Tome Pate Award1988Hector PothierEdmonton Eskimos
CFLPA Tom Pate Award1987Nick ArakgiMontreal Alouettes
CFLPA Tom Pate Award1986Tyrone CrewsB.C. Lions
CFLPA Tome Pate Award1985Jerry FriesenSaskatchewan Roughriders
CFLPA Tom Pate Award1984Bruce WalkerOttawa Rough Riders
CFLPA Tom Pate Award1983Henry WaszczukHamilton Tiger-Cats
CFLPA Tome Pate Award1982David BooneEdmonton Eskimos
CFLPA Tome Pate Award1981Ken McEachernSaskatchewan Roughriders
CFLPA Tom Pate Award1980Jim CoodeOttawa Rough Riders
CFLPA Tom Pate Award1979Peter MullerToronto Argonauts
CFLPA Tom Pate Award1978John HeltonCalgary Stampeders
CFLPA Tome Pate Award1977Ron LancasterSaskatchewan Roughriders
CFLPA Tome Pate Award1976George ReedSaskatchewan Roughriders